# Workplace Safety and Health in the State of Utah

### THIS NOTICE MUST BE POSTED IN THE WORKPLACE

The Utah Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1973 requires Utah employers to provide a safe and healthful workplace, free from recognized hazards that are likely to cause death or serious physical harm to employees. The Utah Occupational Safety and Health (UOSH) Division of the Utah Labor Commission, has the responsibility to administer the Utah Occupational Safety and Health Act.

### **NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES**

You have the obligation to comply with all workplace safety and health rules established by your employer.

You have the right to notify your employer or UOSH about workplace hazards. You may ask to keep your name confidential.

You have the right to request and to participate in a UOSH inspection if you believe that there are unsafe or unhealthful conditions in your workplace.

You have the right to file a complaint with UOSH if you feel that your employer has retaliated against you for making safety or health complaints, or for exercising your rights under the Utah Occupational Safety and Health Act. Such whistleblower complaints must be filed within 30 days of the retaliation.

You have a right to see all UOSH citations issued to your employer. Your employer must post the citations at or near the place of the alleged violation. You may request an informal review of the abatement period granted to the employer.

You have the right to know your employer is obligated to correct workplace hazards by the date indicated on the citation and must certify that these hazards have been reduced or eliminated.

You have the right to copies of your medical records or records of your exposure to toxic and harmful substances or conditions.

## **NOTICE TO EMPLOYERS**

#### UTAH EMPLOYERS ARE REQUIRED TO PROVIDE EMPLOYEES A SAFE AND HEALTHFUL WORKPLACE

#### **REPORTING REOUIREMENTS**

Employers are required to notify UOSH at 801-530-6901 or online at www.laborcommission.utah.gov/divisions/uosh/ within 8 hours of occurrence of all fatalities, disabling, significant, and serious injuries or illnesses to workers. You can make your report 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Tools, equipment, materials, or other evidence that might pertain to the cause of such accidents shall not be removed or destroyed until authorized by UOSH. You are also required to investigate all incidents of worker injuries and occupational illnesses.

#### **REPORTING GUIDANCE**

"Disabling and serious" includes, but is not limited to any injury or illness resulting in immediate admittance to the hospital, permanent or temporary impairment where part of the body is made functionally useless or is substantially reduced in efficiency and which would require treatment by a medical doctor, such as amputation, fracture, deep cuts, severe burns, electric shock, sight impairment, loss of consciousness, and concussions; illnesses that could shorten life or significantly reduce physical or mental efficiency inhibiting the normal function of a part of the body, such as cancer, silicosis, asbestosis, hearing impairment and visual impairment.

#### **INSPECTIONS, CITATIONS, ASSESSED PENALTIES**

UOSH may enter at reasonable times without delay any work place under its jurisdiction to conduct an inspection, investigation, or interview a reasonable number of employees to determine compliance with the Utah Act, rules and standards. If an employer is in violation of any of those rules or standards UOSH will promptly issue a Citation to notify them of the violation. A serious violation may be assessed a proposed penalty of up to \$16,131. Willful or Repeated violations may be assessed a proposed penalty up to \$161,323. Failure to correct or abate a violation may result in additional penalties not to exceed \$16,131 for each day each violation is not corrected.

#### **CONTESTS, APPEALS, INFORMAL REVIEW**

The Utah Labor Commission will provide an adjudicative formal hearing with its Division of Adjudication, when an employer files a written notice of contest within 30 days of receipt of the citation. Upon expiration of that 30-day period, the citation and proposed penalties are final and not subject to review by any court or agency. Employers may also request an informal review of any citation, proposed penalty or abatement period. Informal reviews do not extend the 30 days in which an employer must file a written notice of contest for a formal hearing.



To report a workplace fatality or injury, file a workplace safety complaint, or for assistance, call 801-530-6901 or 1-800-530-5090. To file a safety complaint online or obtain more information about UOSH, visit our website: www.laborcommission.utah.gov/divisions/uosh/. To obtain more information about safety and health in the workplace, please contact the Consultation program at 801-530-6855. Employers and employees may file a complaint about state program administration with the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) at 1244 Speer Blvd., Suite 551 Denver, CO 80204.

Utah Occupational Safety and Health 160 East 300 South, Third Floor PO Box 146650 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6650 801-530-6901 Fax 801-530-7606 Toll-Free 1-800-530-5090 www.laborcommission.utah.gov



**Reporting Injuries** 801-530-6901 Compliance Program 801-530-6901 Consultation Program 801-530-6855



"Helping to ensure a safe and healthy workplace for every worker in the State of Utah"

Rev. 05-07-2025