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BULLETIN - 1 - 2012 
 
 
 To:  Workers’ Compensation Insurance Carriers 
  Self-Insured Employers 
  Third Party Administrators 
  

From: Ronald Dressler, Director 
  Industrial Accidents Division 
 
 Date:  January 24th, 2012 
 
 Re:  Electronic Data Interchange (“EDI”) Reporting Requirements and Penalties 
 

The Industrial Accidents Division is in the process of incorporating electronic data interchange 
("EDI") into Utah's workers' compensation system. You should already have the EDI Event 
Table, which defines reporting requirements and timelines. 

The process of formally incorporating EDI standards into the Utah Workers' Compensation 
Act and the Labor Commission rules will take place over the next 15 months. While these 
statutory and regulatory changes are in progress, insurance carriers, self-insured employers 
and third-party administrators should comply with the reporting requirements and timelines 
of the EDI Event Table. In particular, employers must continue to report workplace injuries 
and diseases within 7 days of notification. However, pursuant to EDI standards, these 
reports will be made to the carrier, self-insured employer or claims administrator, which will 
then transmit the reports to the Division. Uninsured employers will continue to report 
workplace injuries directly to the Division. 

The Implementation Guide will be updated to reference the penalties which will ultimately be 
assessed when the reporting timelines are not met.  During the transition period, the Division 
will not impose penalties against carriers, self-inured employers or third-party administrators 
who comply with either the new EDI standards or the requirements of currently-existing 
statutes and rules. 
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Please forward any questions or comments to: 
 

STATE OF UTAH LABOR COMMISSION 
DIVISION OF INDUSTRIAL ACCIDENTS 

Tonya Gallegos, Deputy Director 
(801) 530-6249 

Or 
Ronald Dressler, Director 

(801) 530-6841 
160 East 300 South, 3rd Floor 

P.O. Box 146610 
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6610 

 
 
 
 


