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To: Workers’ Compensation Insurance Adjusters 
            Third Party Administrators 
            Self Insured Employers 
 
From: Joyce A. Sewell, Director 
            Industrial Accidents Division 
 
Re:   How To Compute Average Weekly Wage 
 
The Industrial Accidents Division receives numerous calls each year from injured workers who 
question the manner in which the employer or its insurance carrier arrived at the weekly rate 
they are being paid for temporary total while off work due to an on-the-job injury or illness. 
 
Per Utah Statute, Workers’ Compensation Act, 34A-2-409, the section that applies in most cases 
is 34A-2-409(1)(e), in which the worker is paid an hourly wage for the number of hours that the 
employee would have worked for the week if the accident had not intervened or 20 hours, 
whichever is greater. 
 
If the employee is paid a weekly salary that amount becomes the average weekly wage.  If paid 
by the month the monthly wage is to be divided by 4.33 weeks; and if the wages are fixed by an 
annual salary, that amount is to be divided by 52 weeks to determine the average weekly wage 
rate.   
 
The Division has learned that some insurance carriers are averaging 13 weeks of past pay to 
compute the average weekly wage in every instance.  Averaging 13 weeks of pay is only 
appropriate in a limited number of cases in which the employee is paid for piecemeal work; like a 
truck driver who is paid by the mileage or someone who works on commission, or when an 
employee regularly works overtime but it was not “scheduled” overtime.  Each claim needs to be 
carefully evaluated since how the weekly wage is arrived at will affect an injured worker’s 
compensation average weekly wage rate throughout their entire workers’ compensation claim. 
 
If the average weekly wage issue comes before the Commission it will review all of the records 
available from the employer and injured worker and, if need be, will use a method (per Section 
34A-2-409(2)) based on those facts to fairly determine the employee’s average weekly wage.  A 
Commission determination will use the method that gives the employee the best outcome in 
computing the average weekly wage since workers’ compensation is an exclusive remedy 
administrative system.     
    
 
Attachment:  34A-2-409   
 



34A-2-409.   Average weekly wage -- Basis of computation. 
 
     (1) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter or Chapter 3, Utah Occupational Disease 
Act, the average weekly wage of the injured employee at the time of the injury is the basis upon 
which to compute the weekly compensation rate and shall be determined as follows: 
     (a) if at the time of the injury the wages are fixed by the year, the average weekly wage shall 
be that yearly wage divided by 52; 
     (b) if at the time of the injury the wages are fixed by the month, the average weekly wage shall 
be that monthly wage divided by 4-1/3; 
     (c) if at the time of the injury the wages are fixed by the week, that amount shall be the 
average weekly wage; 
     (d) if at the time of the injury the wages are fixed by the day, the weekly wage shall be 
determined by multiplying the daily wage by the greater of: 
     (i) the number of days and fraction of days in the week during which the employee under a 
contract of hire was working at the time of the accident, or would have worked if the accident 
had not intervened; or 
     (ii) three days; 
     (e) if at the time of the injury the wages are fixed by the hour, the average weekly wage shall 
be determined by multiplying the hourly rate by the greater of: 
     (i) the number of hours the employee would have worked for the week if the accident had 
not intervened; or 
     (ii) 20 hours; 
     (f) if at the time of the injury the hourly wage has not been fixed or cannot be ascertained, 
the average weekly wage for the purpose of calculating compensation shall be the usual wage for 
similar services where those services are rendered by paid employees; 
     (g) (i) if at the time of the injury the wages are fixed by the output of the employee, the 
average weekly wage shall be the wage most favorable to the employee computed by dividing by 
13 the wages, not including overtime or premium pay, of the employee earned through that 
employer in the first, second, third, or fourth period of 13 consecutive calendar weeks in the 52 
weeks immediately preceding the injury; or 
     (ii) if the employee has been employed by that employer less than 13 calendar weeks 
immediately preceding the injury, the employee's average weekly wage shall be computed as 
under Subsection (1)(g)(i), presuming the wages, not including overtime or premium pay, to be 
the amount the employee would have earned had the employee been so employed for the full 13 
calendar weeks immediately preceding the injury and had worked, when work was available to 
other employees, in a similar occupation. 
     (2) If none of the methods in Subsection (1) will fairly determine the average weekly wage in 
a particular case, the commission shall use such other method as will, based on the facts 
presented, fairly determine the employee's average weekly wage. 
     (3) When the average weekly wage of the injured employee at the time of the injury is 
determined in accordance with this section, it shall be taken as the basis upon which to compute 
the weekly compensation rate. After the weekly compensation is computed, it shall be rounded 
to the nearest dollar. 
     (4) If it is established that the injured employee was of such age and experience when injured 
that under natural conditions the employee's wages would be expected to increase, that fact may 
be considered in arriving at the employee's average weekly wage. 
 


