
B U L L E T I N  #11-01  

TO:   Utah Workers= Compensation Insurance Carriers  

FROM:  Joyce A. Sewell 
                Director, Industrial Accidents  

DATE:  July 12, 2001  

RE:   Policy Reporting Penalties  

As you may be aware, Utah was the first state to use the IAIABC Proof of Coverage 
(POC) electronic reporting system.  We have now been testing and using POC since 
October 1998.  There has been incredible progress made by the carriers and 
reporting entities to ensure that policy information is reported to the Labor 
Commission as required by statute so that the Commission can monitor employers 
for compliance with the insurance requirement and thereby assist both the covered 
employers and injured workers.  

In a continued spirit of cooperation in working with the carriers and recognizing 
that some errors will occur in any reporting system the Labor Commission is 
adopting a performance based penalty system related to the POC reporting system.  

Penalties will not be assessed if the carrier is at a 95% or above compliance rate for 
both data and time for the month that the report is issued.  Below are the instances 
in which a penalty may occur:  

1)  Data Errors  -  If the data is sent to the Labor Commission but is rejected due to 
errors in the fields required by the Commission it is our understanding that the 
carrier has received notice of the rejection by the reporter.  The Commission will 
continue to allow carriers up to the 25th of the month to correct errors that were on 
the report received by the carrier for the prior month.  If the carrier is at or above 
95% compliance rate on data errors, either at the time of the report or after the 20 
days correction period,  the carrier will not be penalized for errors.  However, the 
policies still need to fixed.  

2)  Timeliness  -  If the carrier meets a 95% compliance rate in submitting policy 
information correctly to the Commission within the reporting time requirements 
per the statute (30  days for new, renewal, and reinstatement policies) there will be 
no penalty for timeliness.  Please note that policy data that is reported incorrectly to 
the carrier= s reporter within the 30 days but cannot be reported to the Commission 
will incur a timeliness error if the correct data is not received by the Commission 
within the 30 days time period.  Per our understanding from the reporting services, 
the carrier receives notice from the reporting service if policy data is rejected.  It 
then becomes the responsibility of the carrier to correct the data to send to the 
Commission.  The data would need to be corrected and submitted to the 



Commission within the 30 day time period in order to not incur a penalty for 
timeliness.  

The following penalty structure will apply to timely reporting:  

95% and over in compliance for all policies reported for the month   -  no penalty  

1-15 days late per policy  -  $ 50.00 
16-30 days late per policy  -  $100.00 
30 days and over late per policy  -  $150.00  

This bulletin will also serve as notice that the Commission is having a difficult time 
in some instances in having carriers report policies when employers are sent penalty 
letters for non-compliance with the workers= compensation insurance requirement 
and subsequently informs the Commission that the company has insurance with a 
particular carrier which the Commission has never received any policy 
information.  Beginning immediately the Commission will request , in writing, 
specific employer policy information if the Commission has been informed that a 
carrier has written a policy for an employer but that the information has never been 
received by the Commission.  The carrier will then have 20 days from the date of the 
letter to send the Commission the correct employer policy information.  Failure to 
submit the information to the Commission through the carrier =s reporting service 
during the 20 day time period will result in a $150.00 penalty to the carrier for 
failure to submit requested information.  If the carrier is not the carrier of record 
the Commission will need to be so notified.  

 


