R612-200
Workers’ Compensation Claims

R612-200-1:  Reporting and investigating injuries

A. Employer’s Obligation to Report Injury.

1.
Time requirements. Within 7 days after first notice of a work-related injury, except an injury requiring only first aid treatment as defined in subsection B. of this rule, an employer must report the injury as follows:

a.
Insured employer.  An insured employer must report the injury to its workers’ compensation insurance carrier;

b.
Self-insured employer.  A self-insured employer must report the injury to its claims administrator.
c.
Uninsured employer.  An uninsured employer must report the injury directly to the Division.

d.
An employer is deemed to have notice of a workplace injury upon the earliest of the following:

i.
Observation of the injury;

ii.
Verbal or written notice of the injury from any source; or

iii.
Receipt of any other information sufficient to warrant further inquiry by the employer.

2.
Penalty for failure to properly report injury. 
The Division may impose a civil assessment of up to $500 against an employer for each occurrence in which the employer fails to report a work-related injury as required by this rule. 

B.
 First Aid.
1.
Injury Required Treatment Only by First Aid Need Not Be Reported. An employer is not required to report a work injury that requires only first aid treatment.

a.
First aid treatment is limited to medical care provided on-site or at an employer-sponsored free clinic.  It may include an initial visit and one subsequent follow-up visit within 7 days of the injury or, if provided by a licensed health professional in an employer-sponsored free clinic, then an initial visit and two subsequent visits within 14 days of the injury.

b.
The employer must maintain health records on site for first aid treatment. (This does not apply to reporting it on OSHA's 300 log).
2.
Treatments That Constitute First Aid.  First aid treatment is limited to the following types of medical care:

a.
Non-prescription medications at non-prescription strength;

b.
Tetanus immunizations;

c.
Cleaning, flushing, or soaking wounds on the skin surface;

d.
Applying bandages, gauze pads, etc.;

e.
Hot or cold therapy, limited to hot or cold packs, contrast baths and paraffin;

f.
Use of any totally non-rigid means of support, such as elastic bandages, wraps, non-rigid back belts, etc.;

g.
Use of temporary immobilization devices while transporting an accident victim (splints, slings, neck collars, or back boards);

h.
Drilling a fingernail or toenail to relieve pressure, or draining fluids from blisters;

i.
Eye patches, simple irrigation, or use of a cotton swab to remove foreign bodies not embedded in or adhered to the eye;

j.
Use of irrigation, tweezers, cotton swab or other simple means to remove splinters or foreign material from areas other than the eye;

l.
Use of finger guards;

m.
Massages;

n.
Drinking fluids to relieve heat stress;

3.
Treatments That Are Not Considered First Aid.  First aid does not include treatment of any injury that has resulted in a loss of consciousness, inability to work, work restriction, or transfer to another job.

C.
Insurer and Self-Insured Employer’s Duty to File First Report of Injury.
1.
Purpose of First Report of Injury.  The First Report of Injury is used to provide notice of work injuries to the Division as required by § 34A-2-407 of the Utah Workers’ Compensation Act and § 34A-3-108 of the Utah Occupational Disease Act.
2.
Incorporation by Reference of Technical Standards Governing First Reports of Injury.  The Labor Commission hereby adopts and incorporates by reference the Industrial Accidents Division Claims EDI Implementation Guide (“EDI Implementation Guide”) and the Utah Claims R3 EDI Tables (“EDI Tables”).  (Date/version, etc.) 

3.
Compliance with EDI Implementation Guide and EDI Tables.

a.
 Each First Report of Injury must comply with the formatting standards and content requirements of the EDI Implementation Guide and EDI Tables and must contain the following minimum information:

i.
Date of Injury;

ii.
Type of loss (injury or occupational disease);

iii. Basic injury information, including a) nature of Injury (strain, puncture etc); b) part of body affected (hand, foot etc); and cause of injury (burn, fall, exposure etc);

iv. Description of event or conditions leading to injury or disease;
v. Injured worker’s first and last name;

vi. Injured worker’s date of birth;
vii. Injured worker’s social security number, “Green Card” number, Employment Visa number, or Passport number.  If none of these identification numbers are available, the entity preparing the First Report of Injury must contact the Division to obtain a substitute identification number;

viii. Injured worker’s mailing address;
ix. Inured worker’s employment status (part or full time);

x. Date employer had notice of the injury;

xi. Employer’s name;
xii. Employer’s federal employer identification number or federal tax identification number;

xiii. Employer’s unemployment insurance number;  and

xiv. Employer’s physical business address. 

b.
The claim administrator shall report the appropriate First Report of Injury (FROI) based on the EDI standard, which includes the ability to communicate immediate denial and under investigation. In the event of denial or under investigation, the claim administrator must provide the claimant written notice of determination and reasons for it. 

4.
Time requirement for filing First Report of Injury.  Within 7 days of receiving notice of a work injury, an insurance carrier or self-insured employer must submit a First Report of Injury for the injury to the Division.

a.
An insurance carrier or self-insured employer is deemed to have notice of a workplace injury or disease upon receipt of verbal or written notice of the injury that includes the names of the employer and employee and the date of injury.

b.
An employer that is not self-insured and does not have workers’ compensation insurance must report any work injury directly to the Division.

c.
The Division may impose a civil assessment of up to $500 against an insurance carrier or self-insured employer for each occurrence of failure to properly report a work injury as required by this rule. 

D.
Investigation of Claims.  An insurance carrier, claim administrator or uninsured employer shall promptly investigate the claim and either accept or deny the claim within 21 days of the date of notice.  If, with exercise of reasonable diligence, the insurance carrier, claim administrator or uninsured employer cannot complete its investigation within the initial 21-day period, it shall within that initial 21-day period submit to the Division  a “First Report of Injury—Under Investigation” and provide a similar written notice to the subject employee.  The insurance carrier, claim administrator or uninsured employer shall then be allowed 24 days in addition to the initial 21-day period to complete its investigation.

1.
The Division may impose a civil assessment of up to $500 against an insurance carrier or self-insured employer for each occurrence of failure to properly report its compensability determination by the conclusion of the additional 24-day period provided by this subsection. 

