Coal Mine Safety Council - Committee Membership

Coal Miner Union

  • Mike Dalpiaz, United Mine Workers of America

Coal Mining Experience

  • Steven Childs, Skyline Mine
  • Don Shelley, United Mine Workers of America

Coal Mine Operators

  • John Byars, Sufco Mine
  • Jimmy Brock, Consol Energy, Inc.

Industry Trade Association

  • Mark Compton, Utah Mining Association

Law Enforcement

  • Greg Funk, Emery County Sheriff’s Department

Emergency Services

  • Terri Watkins, Castle View Hospital


  • Kristine Pankow, University of Utah

Mine Engineering

  • Kim McCarter, University of Utah

Mine Safety and Training

  • Ralph Sanich, Interwest Mining Company
  • Thomas Hethmon, University of Utah

Non-Voting Members

  • Sherrie Hayashi, Utah Labor Commissioner
  • Bruce Riches, Utah State Department of Public Safety
  • John Baza, Utah State Department of Natural Resources
  • J. D. McKenzie, U.S. Department of the Interior, BLM
  • Vacant, U.S. Mine Safety and Health Administration

We welcome your questions or comments

Coal Miner Certification Office
We've Moved!
Utah State University Eastern Rm 137
Address: 451 E 400 North
Box 6009, Price UT 84501
Phone: (435) 613-5901