Workers' Compensation Hearings for Termination or Reduction of Compensation
An employer or insurer may file an Application for Hearing with the Adjudication Division ("Division") claiming an injured worker's temporary total disability workers' compensation benefits should be terminated or reduced. An injured worker must be released to light duty following an industrial injury and be terminated from employment for one of the reasons in Utah Code §34-A-2-410.5. Compensation cannot be terminated or reduced until an Application for Hearing is filed by the employer/insurer, a hearing is held and a written decision is issued by a Commission Judge.
Once a completed hearing application is filed by the employer/insurer, a hearing is scheduled no more than 30 days from the date of filing. The expedited hearing process required by these cases means the decision must be issued within 45 days of filing. Because of the short time between application and hearing, formal discovery procedures cannot be used. Instead, information is exchanged between the parties through mandatory disclosures.
- Application for Expedited Termination or Reduction of Compensation Hearing Forms
- Hearing Rules (R602-4) for Compensation Termination or Reduction Hearings
- Utah Code §34-A-2-410.5
- Employee's Guide to Hearings for Expedited Workers' Compensation Termination or Reduction of Benefits
- Adjudication Home
- Discrimination Appeal Hearings
- Workers' Compensation Appeals Hearings
- Workers' Compensation Settlement Agreements
- Utah OSHA Notice of Contest Hearings
- Designated Agents
- Form Search
- Laws and Rules
- Contact Division